Chair Retreat Report (Academic Year 18/19)

Educational Services & Information Technology Senate Committees

Keri Hollander and John Shackleford Co-Chairs

Overview

Senate Educational Services and Information Technology Committee-Academic Year 2018-2019

This has been a year of transition for the Educational Services and Information Technology Senate committees. At the end of the 2017/2018 academic year, the committee presented to the Senate's Executive Committee (EC) a proposal to merge Educational Services with the Senate Committee for Information Technology. EC agreed to the merger on a trial basis.

The newly formed committee consulted with the cognate administrators (Melissa Woo Senior Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, Wendy Tang Associate Provost for Online Education, and Patricia Aceves, Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning and Technology) and the Executive Senate Committee liaisons (Kenneth MacDowell and Darren Chase) to write the new committees charge and membership.

The co-chairs (Keri Hollander and John Shackelford) on 11/12/18 presented to the EC the proposed charge and membership composition. On 12/19/18, after much consideration, the EC decided to not grant approval of the meger. The following concerns were expressed, "The EC's worry with the proposed merger was that the focus on information technology not related to educational uses would be lost."

Nancy Tomes attended the February 2019 meeting of the combined committees to share the EC's concerns. After discussion it was proposed by the committee membership to consider a restructuring of the two committees into a committee with sub-committees modeled after CAPR. Nancy Tomes agreed to speak with Norm Goodman to seek his advice and get a better understanding of how CAPRA is structured and how that structure could apply to the Educational Services and Information Technology committees.