

## Department of Chemistry

## Fifty-Second Graduation Convocation



## May 20, 2022

Charles B. Wang Center Theater

### Program

Professor Peter J. Tonge Chair

Presentation of Graduate Awards and Graduate Degree Candidates

Thoughts and Reflections Graduate Students

**Convocation Address** Tools I Have Added to My Toolbox Along the Way Professor Isaac S. Carrico Vice Chair, Graduate Affairs, and Graduate Program Director

Erwei Huang Diana Lutz

Ronald T. Garry, M.D. Chief of Geriatrics Naples Community Hospital Naples, FL

Presentation of Undergraduate Awards and Undergraduate Degree Candidates Professor Dale G. Drueckhammer Vice Chair, Undergraduate Affairs, and Undergraduate Program Director

Thoughts and Reflections Senior Class Dylan Gordon Amy Yen Phung Ngo Peter Zimmerman

**Concluding Remarks** 

Professor Dale G. Drueckhammer Vice Chair, Undergraduate Affairs, and Undergraduate Program Director

#### Notes on the Speaker

### Ronald T. Garry, M.D. Chief of Geriatrics Naples Community Hospital Naples, FL



Dr. Ronald T. Garry was born and raised in New York. He graduated *cum laude* from Stony Brook University in 1992, with a B.S. in chemistry, and was a Scholar in Medicine at Stony Brook's School of Medicine, from which he graduated in 1996, with added distinction in research.

He then moved to Boston, where he did his internal medicine training at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) and Harvard Medical School. While at BIDMC, he received the Dr. James Tullis award for intellectual growth. Dr. Garry did his Geriatric Fellowship at Harvard Medical School, and upon completion, joined the faculty at BIDMC and Harvard Medical School. He moved to Naples Florida in 2002 and has been the Chief of Geriatrics at Naples Community Hospital since then. He is the immediate past President of the Florida Geriatric Society and holds academic appointments at University of Central Florida and Mayo Clinic.

#### **December 2021 Chemistry Bachelor's Degrees**

Dimitri Bazile Sijin Luo Emily Morse Julian Polin Christopher Sapone Nihaal Sarmad Sameen Zaki

#### December 2021 Engineering Chemistry Bachelor's Degrees

Hasibullah Amani

#### May and August 2022 Chemistry Bachelor's Degree Candidates

| Pavarotti Absalon                     | Maria Francesca Giordano | Amy Yen Phung Ngo�� |
|---------------------------------------|--------------------------|---------------------|
| Melike Akoglu                         | James Giunta             | Soojeung Park       |
| Ailsa Augustyn                        | Dylan Gordon 🛠           | Shailee Patel       |
| Calden Ball∗                          | Chaewon Jeon†            | Juliana Pham 🛠      |
| Blerim Bardhi                         | Chan Jun                 | Christa Post 🛠 🗮    |
| Kiruthika Chan                        | Fajr Karim 🛠             | Eric Rendon         |
| Michael Choi                          | Patrick Kruszon-Oeffner  | Brian Serra 🛠       |
| Jiyun Chong 🛠                         | Chenjia Kuang            | Yanlee Tan          |
| Elias Dimatis 🛠                       | Antony Lee 🛠             | Jacquelin Tang 🛠    |
| Joelle El Hamouche 🛠 🌣                | Katherine Lee 🛠          | Chihua Wang         |
| Jessica Estrada                       | Andrea Leguizamon        | Amanda Witkowski    |
| Michelle Figueroa Vega 🛠 Jenny Ling 🛠 |                          | Sameen Zahra        |
| James Fox                             | Anna Lu 🛠 🔶              | Peter Zimmerman 🛠   |
| Darryl Fung                           | Christopher Muratore     | Wenxing Zuo         |
| Sean Galligan 🛠                       | Thomas Murphy            |                     |

#### May 2022 Engineering Chemistry Bachelor's Degree Candidates

| Jacob Acosta     | Mohammed Aljarrash | Katherine Lee 🛠 |
|------------------|--------------------|-----------------|
| Junior Alcantara | Antonio Ditta      | Xinye Yang      |

- 2022 Provost's Award for Academic Excellence
- + New York State Teaching Certification
- Elected to and joined Phi Beta Kappa

<sup>✤</sup> Candidate for American Chemical Society Certification

Candidate for "University Honors"

#### **December 2021 Master of Science Degrees**

Miguel Gomez

Christopher Kern

#### May and August 2022 Master of Science Degree Candidates

Mirtha Allain Chavez Bianca Benayoun Thomas Farquharson Carol Garcia Christopher Karwan Yanjin Lin Sven Ramstrom Weiqiao Wesley

#### May 2022 Master of Arts in Teaching

Chaewon Jeon+

#### December 2021 and January 2022 Doctor of Philosophy Degrees

| Alexia Cosby | Bingchen Li   | Calvin Quilty |
|--------------|---------------|---------------|
| Alwin James  | Cong Liu      | Brett Vaughn  |
| Ritika Joshi | Apurva Pandey | Ruifu Wang    |

#### May and August 2022 Doctor of Philosophy Degree Candidates

Ashwin Ambi Sneha Basak Lei Chen Matthew Cifone Monty Cosby Steven Hall Sanguk Han Erwei Huang Ken Johnson Jindong Kang Saerom Kim John Klecker John Kreinbihl Wenzao Li Yang Liu Diana Lutz Scott McGuire Roy Nassar Ivan Orozco Yiting Paung Genesis Renderos Kenna Salvatore Rui Shi Alvaro Sponza Mata Sha Tan Adam Taouil Nisha Verma Kun Zhang

+ New York State Teaching Certification

## \*A w a r d s \*

### Undergraduate Student Awards:

| Outstanding Chemistry Student Award  | Joelle El Hamouche   |
|--|--|
| Chemistry Award for Outstanding<br>Academic Achievement                                | Dylan Gordon<br>Antony Lee<br>Katherine Lee<br>Jenny Ling<br>Anna Lu |
| Chemistry Award for Outstanding<br>Teaching by an Undergraduate                        | Dylan Gordon   |
| Chemistry Award for Outstanding<br>Service by an Undergraduate                         | Michelle Figueroa Vega   |
| 2021 Emerson Award and<br>Lap Chan Scholarship   | Joelle El Hamouche<br>Katherine Lee                                  |
| Acknowledgement  |  |
| ACS New York Section Outstanding<br>College Student Award                              | Joelle El Hamouche   |
| ACS Division of Physical Chemistry 2022<br>Undergraduate Award in Physical Chemistry   | Dimitri Bazile   |
| 2022 ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry<br>Undergraduate Award in Inorganic Chemistry | Katherine Lee<br>Y   |
| ACS Division of Organic Chemistry 2022<br>Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry     | Dylan Gordon   |

## \* A w a r d s \*

### **Graduate Student Awards:**

| Lee Myers Award for Outstanding<br>Doctoral Student                    | Erwei Huang  |
|--|--|
| Maria Tzamarioudaki Memorial Award<br>for Outstanding Doctoral Student | Diana Lutz   |
| Jon Rudick Memorial Award for<br>Outstanding Doctoral Student          | Apurva Pandey  |
| Chemistry Award for Outstanding<br>Doctoral Student                    | Monty Cosby<br>Kenna Salvatore                           |
| Chemistry Award for Excellence<br>in Doctoral Research                 | Sneha Basak<br>Sha Tan                                   |
| Chemistry Award for<br>Outstanding Service                             | Alexa Cosby<br>Steven Hall<br>John Klecker<br>Diana Lutz |
| Chemistry Award for Advanced<br>Graduate Student Teaching Assistant    | Jaclyn Mauro   |
| Chemistry Award for First-Year<br>Graduate Student Teaching Assistant  | Matthew Kochert<br>Andrew Nicoll                         |

### Acknowledgement

Stony Brook University President's Award Calvin Quilty To Distinguished Doctoral Students

# Congratulations

## 2021-2022

# **CHEMISTRY**

# **Graduates!**

